Aging skin? Put these foods on the menu

Ever thought you could eat your way to glowing, beautiful skin after fifty?

Aging skin requires special attention. Give your body and spirits a lift with advice à la carte.

.

Nourish skin from the inside out

Menopause symptoms can vary from person to person, but experts define menopause as the moment when we notice the permanent termination of menstruation. There’s the loss of ovarian activity and our bodies produce less of the hormone estrogen. “The peri-menopause step is defined as the changes your body goes through leading up to menopause. This sees the monthly cycle becoming irregular and can be followed by months of regular menstruation,” says Sarah Gora, Ph.D., Medical and Scientific Relations Leader of Vichy Canada. What are we really saying? This loss of estrogen can have significant effects on your physical and emotional well-being. “This can result in menopause symptoms like: hot flashes, sweating, mood swings, cardiovascular complications, osteoporosis and a decline in collagen in our skin,” says Dr. Gora.

If you’re nearing menopause, you’ve surely noticed some differences in your body, from weight changes to dryer skin. How do you regulate your hormones and bring back your youthful radiance? For the nutritionist Martine Pellaë, the recipe for beautiful skin starts with what you put in your mouth. “Menopause brings with it some significant physiological changes,” she says. “If you adapt your diet accordingly, it can help make up for certain deficiencies.”

 

Did you know that after menopause the amount of calcium that your body absorbs drops by 30 percent, while your need for vitamin D doubles? So, for healthy bones, boost your calcium intake with dairy products (cheese, yogurt – even light varieties) and increase vitamin D by eating foods like salmon, tuna or shellfish. You can also increase essential fatty acids, like omega 3, into your diet to boost your beauty bounty.

 

“The goal is to have a good balance of omegas 3 and 6, but many industrial products that are rich in sunflower oil and animal by-products contain high levels of omega 6 (to the detriment of omega 3),” warns Martine Pellaë. “Cut down on some of these products and make room for new ones that will encourage a healthier balance!”

 

Menopause can also affect your skin’s regeneration process, leading to sagging, lifeless or dull and dry skin. “Clinical research conducted in our laboratories showed that dry skin is one of the most visible signs that a woman is post-menopausal,” says Florence Benech, Vichy International Director for Skincare Development. “Once menopause has set in, skin suffers from a 57 percent loss in lipids.”

Want to close the gap? Up your skin’s intake of essential fatty acids through targeted cosmetics and changes in your diet.

 

Your healthy skin diet

Who’s hungry? With a menu like this, great skin never sounded so good. So, which specific products should you choose to improve skin quality after menopause? Here is a list of ingredients that are essential to your health and beauty. Print out our list and consume without moderation!

 

1. Oils and seeds
Rapeseed oil: mix with olive oil for better flavor
Linseed oil or flaxseeds
Walnut oil, soya oil, wheat germ oil

2. Fish – both fatty and lean
Salmon, mackerel, herring, sardines, tuna, trout, eel, anchovy, halibut, brill, bass, swordfish.

Sole, whiting, cod, monkfish, flounder, pollock, sea bream, haddock, bass, pike, Alaska pollock, skate, sea trout, turbot, red mullet.

3. Nuts
Walnuts, hazelnuts, almonds, cashew nuts, pistachios.

4. Eggs, poultry and meat rich in omega 3
If you can, choose from free-range livestock fed on grass, alfalfa and flax seed.

Related products

Related articles

Please enter your email address below and we will send you a notification when this item becomes available.

Peau vieillissante? Mettez ces aliments au menu

Peau vieillissante? Mettez ces aliments au menu

Est-ce que vous aviez déjà pensé que vous pourriez obtenir une superbe peau éclatante après 50 ans grâce à votre alimentation?

La peau vieillissante a besoin d'attention spéciale.

.

Nourrissez la peau de l'intérieur vers l'extérieur

Si vous vous approchez de la ménopause, vous avez sûrement remarqué quelques différences dans votre corps, allant de changements de poids à une peau plus sèche. Comment pouvez-vous réguler vos hormones et restaurer votre éclat plein de jeunesse? Selon la nutritionniste Martine Pellaë, la recette pour une belle peau commence par votre alimentation. « La ménopause amène avec elle des changements physiologiques importants », dit-elle. « Adapter votre alimentation en conséquence peut aider à compenser certaines lacunes. »

Saviez-vous qu'après la ménopause, votre corps absorbe 30 % moins de calcium, tandis que votre besoin de vitamine D double? Donc, pour des os en santé, augmentez votre consommation de calcium avec des produits laitiers (fromage et yogourt – même les versions légères) et de vitamine D en mangeant des aliments comme le saumon, le thon ou les fruits de mer. Vous pouvez aussi augmenter l'apport d'acides gras essentiels, comme les oméga-3, pour améliorer votre capital de beauté.

 

« Le but est d'obtenir un bon équilibre entre les oméga-3 et 6, mais bien des produits industriels riches en huile de tournesol et en produits dérivés des animaux contiennent de grandes quantités d'oméga-6 (au détriment des oméga-3) », prévient Martine Pellaë. « Diminuez votre consommation de certains de ces produits et faites de la place pour de nouveaux, qui encourageront un équilibre plus sain! »

 

La ménopause peut aussi avoir un effet sur le processus de régénération de votre peau, menant à une peau tombante et sans vie ou terne et sèche. « Des recherches en clinique menées à nos laboratoires ont démontré que la peau sèche est un des signes les plus visibles qu'une femme a passé la ménopause », dit Florence Benech, directrice internationale du développement des soins de la peau de Vichy. « Après le début de la ménopause, la peau subit une perte de lipides de 57 %. »

 

Vous souhaitez combler l'écart? Augmentez l'apport d'acides gras essentiels de votre peau grâce à des produits de beauté ciblés et à des modifications à votre alimentation.

Votre alimentation saine pour la peau

Qui a faim? Avec un menu comme celui-ci, une belle peau n'a jamais été aussi tentante. Donc, quels produits spécifiques devriez-vous choisir pour améliorer la qualité de votre peau après la ménopause? Voici une liste des ingrédients qui sont essentiels pour votre santé et votre beauté. Imprimez notre liste et mangez-en sans modération!

 

1. Huiles et graines
Huile de colza : mélangez-la avec de l'huile d'olive pour un meilleur goût
Huile de lin ou graines de lin
Huile de noisette, huile de soya, huile de germe de blé

2. Poisson – aussi bien gras que maigre
Saumon, maquereau, hareng, sardine, thon, truite, anguille, anchois, flétan, barbue, achigan, espadon.

Sole, merlan, morue, lotte, flet, goberge, dorade, aiglefin, achigan, brochet, goberge de l’Alaska, raie, truite de mer, turbot, rouget.

3. Noix
Noix de Grenoble, noisettes, amandes, noix de cajou, pistaches.

4.Œufs, volailles et viandes riches en oméga-3
Si vous le pouvez, choisissez des produits provenant de bétail élevé en liberté et nourri à l'herbe, à la luzerne et aux graines de lin.

Produits connexes

Articles connexes

Veuillez entrer votre adresse de courriel ci-dessous et nous vous aviserons lorsque cet article sera de nouveau offert.