How to Choose the Best Face Cleanser for Your Skin Type

1. What types of face cleansers are there?

a. Foam cleanser

b. Micellar water cleanser

c. Gel cleanser

d. Cleansing wipes

2. What is the best face cleanser for my skin?

a. The best cleanser for dry skin

b. The best cleanser for sensitive skin

c. The best cleanser for oily and acne-prone skin

d. The best cleanser for mature skin

e. The best cleanser for combination skin

3. How to use a face cleanser

 

A lot of people dismiss facial cleansers when building their skincare routine. Instead, they focus their energy on the “stars” of the skincare show like serums, eye creams and moisturizers—but that’s a big mistake. Cleansers are the first step of your skincare routine—they set the tone, so choosing the right one is important—but what’s even more important is steering clear of the wrong cleanser, which can create a problem or skin condition you don’t normally have.

It’s all about choosing a face cleanser that’s tailored to your skin type—this will set you up for success and leave you with a fresh canvas that allows your skin to absorb all the benefits of your go-to skincare products. Whether you have dry, oily, acne-prone or sensitive skin, cleansers eliminate dirt and remove makeup without stripping your skin. Here’s how to choose the best face cleanser for your skin’s needs.

1. What types of face cleansers are there?

Healthy skin starts with good skin hygiene. Cleansing your face washes away dirt, dead skin cells, makeup and anything else that might clog your pores or cause general dullness. When it comes to cleansers, there is a myriad of options that can confuse even the most seasoned skincare aficionado. And we do mean “cleanser” because even the best makeup remover won’t suffice. Sure, makeup removers are often used interchangeably with skin cleansers, but they’re not the same. Face cleansers remove dirt and oil while makeup remover takes off the makeup and that’s it.

When you’re shopping for a new cleanser, don’t just grab any product off the shelf; consider your skin type and goals and then choose a delivery method and texture accordingly. These are the most common types and how they work.

a. Foam cleanser

Just like the name indicates, this cleanser creates a foamy lather. The best foam cleansers are often lightweight, come in a tube or a pump container and have a foaming or sudsy quality when applied to the skin. If you’re wondering what skin type foaming cleanser is best for, they generally do well for normal to combination skin. They’re extremely effective at washing away hard-to-wash-off products like sunscreen and makeup and are also effective at removing oil.

b. Micellar water cleanser

Micellar water is a multi-use cleansing product made of purified water and micelles. Think of these micelles as tiny balls of cleansing oil suspended in water. The water-like formula is usually applied with a cotton pad. When a soaked pad is pulled across the skin, the micelles start pulling makeup, sebum and other impurities off the skin. If you want a gentle face cleanser, micellar formulas are your best bet because there’s no need to rinse them off. However, if you're looking for a more target treatment for your skin type, Vichy has a micellar water for that. Normaderm 3-in-1 Micellar Solution is infused with acne-fighting antibacterial ingredients like Zinc PCA. While Vichy's Purete Thermale One Step Cleansing Micellar Solution works like a cleanser, toner and eye makeup remover in one.

c. Gel cleanser

The best gel cleansers are effective at unclogging pores, killing acne-causing bacteria and removing excess oil. Vichy Pureté Thermale Fresh Cleansing Gel goes even further and cleanses impurities like pollution and dust particles and reduces the effects of hard water. Gel formulas also tend to be the best kind of face cleanser for oily and acne-prone skin.

d. Cleansing wipes

On busy days, facial wipes can really save the day! The best facial wipes are the perfect tool for getting skin clean quickly! But not all cleansing wipes are the same. Vichy Makeup Removing Micellar Cleansing Wipes have the Canadian Dermatology Association’s seal of approval and are strong enough to remove waterproof makeup but are safe and effective to use on all skin types.

2. What is the best face cleanser for my skin?

We know that the first step of any solid skincare routine is cleansing. What’s less obvious, however, is how to choose a face wash that suits you. Not sure where to start? Here are the best formulas according to your skin type.

a. The best cleanser for dry skin

If you’re prone to dry skin and your skin feels tight and uncomfortable after you cleanse, chances are you’re using a formula that’s too aggressive. The best kind of face cleanser for dry skin is one that’s creamy and hydrating. Vichy Pureté Thermale Cleansing Milk Balm uses mild (yet efficient) cleansing agents that remove banish impurities while leaving behind a veil of hydration thanks to vitamin E and glycerine.

b. The best cleanser for sensitive skin

Looking for a face cleanser for sensitive skin? It can be frustrating to find because so many on the market are filled with harsh and unnecessary chemicals and fragrances that can trigger reactions like redness and flaking or even lead to acne flare-ups. The best face cleanser for sensitive skin is something that is gentle and slightly hydrating and removes impurities. Vichy Pureté Thermale Fresh Cleansing Gel effectively removes oils and dirt and alleviates the effects of hard water on skin. Another safe and nourishing formula is Vichy’s Pureté Thermale mineral Micellar Water Face Cleanser. With a high concentration of Vichy volcanic water, charged with 15 minerals, it strengthens the skin barrier while the micelles dissolve impurities and soothe skin.

c. The Best cleanser for oily and acne-prone skin.

Anyone who has struggled with acne knows that facial cleansers can make a big difference. The best cleanser for acne is one that’s gel-based and contains acne-fighting ingredients like salicylic acid and zinc, which can help clear up skin while cleaning it. Vichy Normaderm Anti-Acne Purifying Gel Cleanser is an effective face cleanser for acne because it uses salicylic acid to help clear blocked pores and introduces probiotics to help reinforce the skin barrier.

d. The best cleanser for mature skin

The best cleanser for mature skin is one that combines dirt-eliminating ingredients with pampering hydration that leaves skin refreshingly clean but never over-stripped—plus it packs anti-aging punch. Vichy Pureté Thermale 3-in-1 creamy texture turns into a rich lather and deeply cleanses skin, even sensitive.

e. The best cleanser for combination skin

A pH balancing face wash that won’t irritate oily and combination skin is hard to find—but it’s out there. The best cleanser for combination skin is lightweight and effective at removing makeup without irritating skin. Vichy's Nordmaderm Phytosolution Cleansing Gel does all that while also fighting acne by banishing excess sebum and soothing blemishes.

3. How to use a face cleanser?

If you’ve ever wondered how to wash your face, you’re not alone. There’s no one right way to do it, and it often depends on the kind of skin cleanser you use, but there are a few hard-and-fast rules you should follow.

Rule 1: Wash your face at least once a day, in the evening. It’s important to wash away all the pollution, makeup, dirt and oil that has built up throughout the day. If you’re wearing makeup, either double cleanse (which means use two different kinds of cleanser back to back) or use a makeup remover before your cleanser. An effective duo that works on most skin types is a Micellar Water followed by milky balm or gel cleanser. If you have oily or acne-prone skin, you should cleanse both in the morning and the evening.

Rule 2: Never use hot water when splashing your face before you apply your cleanser. Hot water can strip the skin of the natural oil barrier that helps maintain its integrity. Instead, stick with mild to cool water.

Rule 3: Make sure you’re using the best cleanser for your skin type. If your skin feels tight after cleansing, it’s too harsh for you.

Rule 4: How long do you leave cleanser on your face? Not long. It may be tempting to leave it for a few minutes or rub your face with added ferocity, but that doesn’t correlate with how clean it will get. Aim for 30 seconds or until the product lathers on your face and then rinse with mild to cool water.

Rule 5: The face cleanser is your first step, but you can follow up with a skin toner. It’s a fast-penetrating liquid that delivers a light hit of skin hydration and helps remove any leftover dead cells. If you’re really looking for added skin pampering, once or twice a week, follow up with a face mask. Finding the best face mask for your skin is easy: Most of them have their benefits listed on the label.

Related products

Related articles

Comment choisir le meilleur nettoyant pour le visage selon votre type de peau

1. Quels sont les différents types de nettoyants pour le visage ?

a. La mousse nettoyante

b. L’eau micellaire nettoyante

c. Le gel nettoyant

d. Les lingettes nettoyantes

2. Quel est le meilleur nettoyant visage pour mon type de peau ?

a. Le meilleur nettoyant visage pour la peau sèche

b. Le meilleur nettoyant visage pour la peau sensible

c. Le meilleur nettoyant visage pour la peau grasse et à tendance acnéique

d. Le meilleur nettoyant visage pour la peau mature

e. Le meilleur nettoyant visage pour la peau mixte

3. Comment utiliser votre nettoyant pour le visage ?

 

Plusieurs personnes laissent de côté les nettoyants visage au moment de créer leur rituel de soins de la peau. Elles concentrent plutôt leurs efforts sur les stars des soins de la peau comme les sérums, les crèmes contour des yeux et les hydratants visage. Il s’agit d’un gros faux pas. Le nettoyant est la première étape de votre routine de soins de la peau. Il donne le ton, alors choisir celui qui vous convient est très important. Ce qui est encore plus essentiel, c’est de rester loin du mauvais nettoyant, susceptible de créer un nouveau problème de peau.

Tout repose sur le choix d’un nettoyant pour le visage qui est adapté à votre type de peau. Il vous mettra sur la voie du succès et vous procurera un canevas frais qui permettra à votre peau d’absorber les bienfaits de vos produits cosmétiques favoris. Que vous ayez une peau sèche, une peau grasse, une peau à tendance acnéique ou une peau sensible, les nettoyants éliminent la saleté et le maquillage, sans toutefois décaper votre peau. Voici comment choisir le meilleur nettoyant visage selon votre type de peau et ses besoins.

1. Quels sont les différents types de nettoyants pour le visage ?

Le secret d’une peau saine repose dans une bonne hygiène. Nettoyer votre visage élimine la saleté, les cellules mortes de la peau, le maquillage et tout ce qui peut obstruer vos pores et causer un manque d’éclat. En matière de nettoyants, il est facile de se perdre dans les nombreuses options disponibles, même pour les adeptes de soins de la peau les plus expérimentés. Ici, nous parlons bel et bien de nettoyant pour le visage, puisque même le meilleur démaquillant n’est pas suffisant. Bien que les démaquillants soient souvent utilisés de manière interchangeable avec les nettoyants, il sont toutefois différents. Les nettoyants pour le visage éliminent la saleté et l’huile, alors que les démaquillants enlèvent le maquillage et c’est tout.

Lorsque vous magasinez un nouveau nettoyant, ne choisissez pas n’importe lequel. Considérez votre type de peau et vos objectifs, puis choisissez le type de nettoyant et sa texture, en conséquence. Voici une liste des types de nettoyants visage les plus communs et comment ils fonctionnent.

a. La mousse nettoyante

Tout comme son nom l’indique, ce nettoyant crée une mousse onctueuse. Les meilleurs mousses nettoyantes sont souvent légè res, viennent dans un tube ou une pompe et elles ont une texture mousse ou savonneuse lorsqu’elles sont appliquées sur la peau. Vous vous demandez à quel(s) type(s) de peau elles conviennent ? Les mousses nettoyantes conviennent généralement à la peau normale à mixte. Elles sont extrêmement efficaces pour nettoyer les produits difficiles à éliminer (comme la crème solaire et le maquillage) et l’huile.

b. L’eau micellaire nettoyante

L’eau micellaire est un produit nettoyant multiusage fait d’eau purifiée et de petites boules d’huile nettoyante suspendues dans l’eau. Cette formule liquide est habituellement appliquée à l’aide d’un coton démaquillant. Lorsqu’un coton imbibé est glissé sur la peau, les micelles commencent à tirer le maquillage, le sébum et les autres impuretés à l’extérieur des pores. Si vous voulez un nettoyant pour le visage doux, les eaux micellaires sont parfaites pour vous car vous n’avez pas besoin de les rincer. Si vous êtes à la recherche d’un traitement ciblé pour votre type de peau, Vichy a la parfaite eau micellaire pour vous: la Solution Micellaire 3-en-1 Normaderm de Vichy est infusée d’ingrédients antibactériens contre l’acné comme le Zinc PCA. L’Eau Micellaire Minérale de Vichy quant à elle, sert à la fois de nettoyant, tonifiant et de démaquillant pour les yeux.

c. Le gel nettoyant

Les meilleurs gels nettoyants purifient les pores, tuent les bactéries responsables de l’acné et éliminent l’excès de sébum. Le Gel Frais Nettoyant Pureté Thermale de Vichy va encore plus loin en nettoyant aussi les impuretés comme la pollution et les particules de poussière, en plus de réduire les effets néfastes de l’eau dure. Les formules en gel ont aussi tendance à être les nettoyants les plus adaptés à la peau grasse et à tendance acnéique.

d. Les lingettes nettoyantes

Quand vous manquez de temps, les lingettes nettoyantes pour le visage peuvent sauver votre journée ! Les meilleurs lingettes pour le visage sont des outils parfaits pour nettoyer la peau rapidement. Toutefois, les lingettes nettoyantes ne sont pas toutes pareilles. Les Lingettes Micellaires Nettoyantes et Démaquillantes de Vichy sont approuvées par l’Association canadienne de dermatologie et sont assez puissantes pour éliminer le maquillage hydrofuge, mais assez sécuritaires et efficaces pour être utilisées sur tous les types de peau.

2. Quel est le meilleur nettoyant visage pour mon type de peau ?

Nous savons maintenant que la première étape de toute routine de soins de la peau efficace est le nettoyage. Ce qui est moins évident, c’est de savoir comment choisir le meilleur nettoyant pour le visage qui vous convient parfaitement. Vous ne savez pas par où commencer ? Voici les meilleures formules pour chaque type de peau.

a. Le meilleur nettoyant visage pour la peau sèche

Si vous avez la peau sèche, qu’elle tiraille et qu’elle est inconfortable, c’est que vous utilisez sûrement une formule qui est trop agressive. Le meilleur type de nettoyant visage pour la peau sèche possède une texture crémeuse et hydratante. Le Lait Baume Nettoyant Pureté Thermale de Vichy utilise des agents nettoyant doux (mais efficaces) qui éliminent les impuretés tout en laissant un voile d’hydratation sur la peau, grâce à la vitamine E et la glycérine.

b. Le meilleur nettoyant visage pour la peau sensible

À la recherche d’un nettoyant pour le visage pour la peau sensible ? Il peut être difficile à trouver, puisque plusieurs produits sur le marché sont remplis d’ingrédients chimiques et de parfums superflus qui peuvent provoquer des réactions comme la rougeur, la desquamation et même les poussées d’acné. Le meilleur nettoyant visage pour la peau sensible est doux et légèrement hydratant, en plus d’être capable d’éliminer les impuretés. Le Gel Frais Nettoyant Pureté Thermal de Vichy élimine efficacement l’huile et la saleté, tout en soulageant les effets de l’eau dure. L’Eau Micellaire Minérale Pureté Thermale de Vichy est aussi une formule sûre et nourrissante pour la peau sensible. Avec sa haute concentration en eau volcanique de Vichy, chargée de 15 minéraux, elle renforce la barrière cutanée, alors que les micelles dissolvent les impuretés et apaisent la peau.

c. Le meilleur nettoyant visage pour la peau à tendance acnéique

Tous ceux qui ont déjà fait face à l’acné savent à quel point les nettoyants pour le visage font une grosse différence. Le meilleur nettoyant pour l’acné est une formule en gel qui contient des ingrédients anti-acné comme l’acide salicylique et le zinc, capables d’assainir la peau tout en la nettoyant. Le Nettoyant Gel Purifiant Anti-Acné Normaderm de Vichy est un nettoyant pour le visage efficace contre l’acné car il utilise l’acide salicylique pour aider à purifier les pores obstrués et il est enrichi de probiotiques qui aident à renforcer la barrière cutanée.

3. Comment utiliser votre nettoyant pour le visage ?

Vous vous demandez comment nettoyer votre visage efficacement ? Vous n’êtes pas seul(e). Il n’existe pas de façon universelle et cela dépend souvent du type de nettoyant que vous utilisez. Voici toutefois quelques règles d’or à mettre en pratique :

Règle 1: Nettoyez votre visage au moins une fois par jour, le soir.
Il est important d’éliminer la pollution, le maquillage, la saleté et l’huile qui se sont accumulés sur votre visage au cours de la journée. Si vous portez du maquillage, nettoyez doublement (en utilisant deux nettoyants différents, un à la suite de l’autre) ou utilisez un démaquillant avant votre nettoyant. Un duo efficace qui fonctionne sur presque tous les types de peau est l’eau micellaire suivie d’un lait baume ou d’un gel nettoyant. Si vous avez la peau grasse ou à tendance acnéique, vous devriez nettoyer votre visage matin et soir.

Règle 2: N’utilisez jamais de l’eau chaude sur votre visage, avant d’appliquer votre nettoyant.

Règle 3: Assurez-vous d’utiliser le meilleur nettoyant pour votre type de peau.
Si votre peau tiraille après avoir été nettoyée, c’est qu’il est trop agressif pour vous.

Règle 4: Laissez agir le nettoyant sur votre visage pendant 30 secondes maximum
Il est peut-être tentant de le laisser pendant quelques minutes ou de frotter votre visage avec vigueur, mais cela ne le rendra pas plus efficace. Visez 30 secondes ou jusqu’à ce que le nettoyant se transforme en mousse et rincez-le ensuite à l’eau tiède ou froide.

Règle 5: Le nettoyant pour le visage est votre première étape, mais vous pouvez le faire suivre d’une lotion tonique.
La lotion tonique est un liquide à absorption rapide qui procure une légère dose d’hydratation et qui élimine les cellules mortes de la peau laissées derrière. Si vous êtes vraiment à la recherche d’une dose supplémentaire d’amour pour votre peau, une à deux fois par semaine, réalisez un masque pour le visage après votre nettoyant. Trouver le meilleur masque pour le visage pour votre peau est simple : les étiquettes de la majorité d’entre eux mentionnent leurs bienfaits respectifs.

Produits connexes

Articles connexes