How to avoid to gain weight during menopause?

“Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food” said Hippocrates, the father of medicine. This mantra should guide our daily diets, even more importantly during and after menopause. A number of changes in your body will occur and weight gain may be one of them. It’s important to know that this is a common problem faced by many women. You are not alone. The best thing you can do to defend yourself against weight gain is to adapt your diet to your changing body. In the article below, our expert Agnieszka Szmurto gives eight basic rules to follow in order for everything to go just fine.

Diet affects quality of life during menopause. Proper eating habits are an action against weight gain and obesity. It is very important to pay attention to what you eat during this stage of life1. Weight gain during menopause increases the risk of high blood pressure, high blood lipid levels and insulin resistance; therefore, maintaining healthy diet is crucial2.

Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food.”

Hippocrates

It is also important to monitor blood sugar levels after menopause to prevent type 2 diabetes. It is necessary to eat balanced meals throughout the day. Your diet should be based on products with low and medium glycemic index, so it’s important to pay attention to the glycemic load of a meal1.

Here are some basic tips to follow to avoid gaining weight during menopause

  • Meals should be consumed regularly to prevent excessive drop in blood glucose. Starting from breakfast, there should be 4-5 meals eaten throughout the day. Breakfast should contain complex carbohydrates such as whole grain bread, or oatmeal, vegetables and legumes3.
  • A brunch and afternoon snack should consist of small snacks in the form of a fruit, preferably with protein additives like plain yogurt, which are a source of calcium and are important in the prevention of osteoporosis4.
  • Lunch should be the largest meal of the day, accounting for about 35% of energy intake. It should be eaten relatively early, in the middle of the day.
  • Dinner can also be a warm meal, but it should be proportionally smaller than lunch.
  • Skip the salt! Not only does salt lead to a rise in blood pressure, it also causes water retention, which can contribute to weight gain.
  • Your diet should be rich in dairy products because they provide more calcium, protein, phosphorus, potassium, zinc and magnesium per calorie than any other food. Skimmed milk, cottage cheese, low fat plain yogurt are the recommended dairy products5.
  • Calcium and vitamin D reduce fall-and-fracture risk and also prevent osteoporosis. Vitamin D should be supplemented with 800 IU/day. Vitamin D can be also found in farmed trout, wild salmon, sardines, mackerel, tuna, cod liver oil, fresh mushrooms. Marine fish should be eaten twice a week6.
  • Lastly, increased physical activity is very important due to the fact that it helps with weight loss, increases insulin sensitivity, and prevents osteoporosis. At least 30 minutes of moderate-intensity cardio activity three days per week, in combination with two strength training or weight lifting sessions is recommended2,6.

Diet – A Good Discussion Starter?

Diet change is often avoided when your partner doesn’t have the physical necessities. Keep in mind that your partner will also go through a kind of “menopause.” For men, “change of life” is called andropause, and it comes with as many life changes as menopause does for women. Diet is a good way to start a dialogue on this common, but different life-changing journey. Why not making it a discussion starter to encourage going through this journey together as a couple?

Key Elements to Remember to avoid menopause weight gain

DO adopt a proper diet — not a sophisticated one, just a healthy one. There are plenty of things you can eat that will, not only prevent weight gain, but will also help with the many symptoms you may feel.

DO keep your meal times regular so that your body can get used to this new diet.



SOURCES:

1. Brończyk-Puzoń A, Piecha D, Nowak J, Koszowska A, Kulik-Kupka K, Dittfeld A, Zubelewicz-Szkodzińska B.Guidelines for dietary management of menopausal women with simple obesity. Prz Menopauzalny. 2015 Mar; 14(1):48–52.

2. Simkin-Silverman, L. R., & Wing, R. R. (2000). Weight gain during menopause. Postgraduate Medicine, 108(3),47–56.

3. Weickert, M. O., & Pfeiffer, A. F. (2018). Impact of Dietary Fiber Consumption on Insulin Resistance and the Prevention of Type 2 Diabetes. The Journal of Nutrition, 148(1), 7–12.

4. Purdue-Smithe, A. C., Whitcomb, B. W., Szegda, K. L., Boutot, M. E., Manson, J. E., Hankinson, S. E., Bertone-Johnson, E. R. (2017). Vitamin D and calcium intake and risk of early menopause. The American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, ajcn145607.

5. Rizzoli, R., Bischoff-Ferrari, H., Dawson-Hughes, B., & Weaver, C. (2014). Nutrition and Bone Health in Women after the Menopause. Women’s Health, 10(6), 599–608.

6. Stachowiak G, Pertyński T, Pertyńska-Marczewska M. Metabolic disorders in menopause. Prz Menopauzalny.2015 Mar; 14(1): 59–64.

Related articles

Comment éviter de prendre du poids durant la ménopause?

Comment éviter de prendre du poids durant la ménopause?

« Que ta nourriture soit ton médicament et que ton médicament soit dans ta nourriture », a dit Hippocrate, le père de la médecine. Ce mantra devrait guider nos choix alimentaires quotidiens, surtout durant et après la ménopause. De nombreux changements dans votre corps se présenteront et il se pourrait que la prise de poids soit l’un d’entre eux. Il est important de savoir qu’il s’agit d’un problème fréquent qui touche de nombreuses femmes. Vous n’êtes pas seules. Le meilleur moyen pour prévenir la prise de poids est d’adapter son alimentation à son corps changeant. Dans l’article ci-dessous, notre experte Agnieszka Szmurło propose huit règles de base à suivre afin que tout se déroule comme sur des roulettes.

L’alimentation affecte la qualité de vie durant la ménopause. De bonnes habitudes alimentaires permettent d’éviter la prise de poids et l’obésité. Il est important de porter une attention particulière à votre alimentation à cette étape de votre vie1. La prise de poids durant la ménopause augmente le risque d’hypertension artérielle, de taux élevés de lipides dans le sang et une résistance à l’insuline; par conséquent, maintenir un régime alimentaire sain est primordial2.

« Que ta nourriture soit ton médicament et que ton médicament soit dans ta nourriture. » Hippocrate

Il est aussi important de surveiller les taux de sucre dans le sang après la ménopause pour prévenir le diabète de type 2. Manger des repas équilibrés tout au long de la journée est indispensable. Votre alimentation devrait être à base de produits à faible et moyen indice glycémique, c’est pourquoi il est important de porter une attention particulière à la charge glycémique dans un repas1.

Voici certains conseils de base à suivre afin de prévenir la prise de poids durant la ménopause :

Les repas devraient être consommés régulièrement pour prévenir une hypoglycémie. Dès le déjeuner, vous devriez manger 4 à 5 repas au courant de la journée. Le déjeuner devrait comprendre des glucides complexes tels que du pain à grains entier, de l’avoine, des légumes et des légumineuses3.

Un brunch et une collation d’après-midi devraient inclure un fruit, préférablement accompagné d’additifs protéiques, comme le yogourt nature, qui sont une source de calcium et sont importants pour prévenir l’ostéoporose4.

Le dîner devrait être le plus gros repas de la journée, fournissant environ 35 % de l’apport énergétique quotidien. Il devrait être consommé au milieu de la journée.

Le souper peut aussi être un repas chaud, mais devrait être proportionnellement plus petit que le repas du dîner.

Dites non au sel! Le sel augmente non seulement la pression artérielle, mais cause aussi la rétention d’eau qui peut contribuer à la prise de poids.

Votre alimentation devrait être riche en produits laitiers car ils fournissent plus de calcium, de protéine, de phosphore, de potassium, de zinc et de magnésium par calorie que tout autre aliment. Le lait écrémé, le fromage cottage et le yogourt nature faible en gras sont les produits laitiers recommandés5.

Le calcium et la vitamine D réduisent le risque de chute et de fracture, et préviennent l’ostéoporose. La dose recommandée en vitamine D devrait être de 800 UI/jour. La vitamine D peut aussi se trouver dans la truite d’élevage, le saumon sauvage, les sardines, le maquereau, le thon, l’huile de foie de morue et les champignons frais. Il est recommandé de manger du poisson deux fois par semaine6.

Finalement, une augmentation de l’activité physique est très importante car elle aide à la perte de poids, augmente la sensibilité à l’insuline et prévient l’ostéoporose. Une activité cardiovasculaire d’intensité modérée pendant au moins 30 minutes, trois jours par semaine, en plus de deux séances d’entraînement musculaire ou d’haltérophilie sont recommandées2,6.

L’alimentation – Une bonne façon d’aborder le sujet?

Un changement d’alimentation est souvent écarté lorsque votre partenaire n’a pas les mêmes besoins physiques. Gardez en tête que votre partenaire vivra aussi une « ménopause ». Pour les hommes, ce « changement de vie » est appelé l’andropause et se manifeste sous forme de nombreux symptômes, comme les femmes. L’alimentation est une bonne manière d’engager le dialogue sur cette expérience bouleversante, mais différente, qui vous unit. Pourquoi ne pas engager la conversation pour vivre cette expérience à deux? ;)

Éléments clés à retenir :

IL FAUT adopter une bonne alimentation – sans pour autant que ce soit compliqué. Le plus important est qu’elle soit saine. De nombreux aliments vont non seulement prévenir la prise de poids, mais aussi vous aider avec plusieurs symptômes ressentis.

IL FAUT que vos heures de repas soient régulières afin que votre corps s’habitue à ce nouveau régime alimentaire.

1. Brończyk-Puzoń A, Piecha D, Nowak J, Koszowska A, Kulik-Kupka K, Dittfeld A, Zubelewicz-Szkodzińska B. Guidelines for dietary management of menopausal women with simple obesity. Prz Menopauzalny. 2015 Mar; 14(1): 48–52.

2. Simkin-Silverman, L. R., & Wing, R. R. (2000). Weight gain during menopause. Postgraduate Medicine, 108(3), 47–56.

3. Weickert, M. O., & Pfeiffer, A. F. (2018). Impact of Dietary Fiber Consumption on Insulin Resistance and the Prevention of Type 2 Diabetes. The Journal of Nutrition, 148(1), 7–12.

4. Purdue-Smithe, A. C., Whitcomb, B. W., Szegda, K. L., Boutot, M. E., Manson, J. E., Hankinson, S. E., Bertone-Johnson, E. R. (2017). Vitamin D and calcium intake and risk of early menopause. The American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, ajcn145607.

5. Rizzoli, R., Bischoff-Ferrari, H., Dawson-Hughes, B., & Weaver, C. (2014). Nutrition and Bone Health in Women after the Menopause. Women’s Health, 10(6), 599–608.

6. Stachowiak G, Pertyński T, Pertyńska-Marczewska M. Metabolic disorders in menopause. Prz Menopauzalny. 2015 Mar; 14(1): 59–64.

7. Messina, M. (2014). Soy foods, isoflavones, and the health of postmenopausal women. The American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, 100(suppl_1), 423S–430S. doi:10.3945/ajcn.113.071464

 

Articles connexes