How to lose my belly fat during menopause?

How to lose my belly fat: Getting rid of belly fat after menopause

Losing belly fat is mostly a matter of exercising; Not getting more of it is the real challenge! Your fat tissue isn’t going to help because of all the changes they already have to deal with. But a healthy nutrition should do wonders!

 

The time of menopause in woman's life brings a great risk of becoming overweight and obese due to the menopause hormonal changes occurring in the body1. The distribution of fat tissue changes in a specific way. In place of gynoid fat, characteristic for the reproductive age, in which fat tissue is deposited on the thighs and hips, the android body fat appears. Excess fat accumulates in the subcutaneous tissue of the abdomen causing something that we colloquially call “the belly"2.

 

What to Do to get rid of belly fat after menopause

  • Avoid so-called miraculous diets, e.g. fasting, fruit diet or high protein diet.
  • Your diet should also be high in fiber: At least 400g (5 portions) of fruits and vegetables should be consumed per day.
  • Limit your free sugars intake to less than 10% of your total energy intake.
  • Reducing the amount of total fat intake to less than 30% of your total energy.
  • Avoid processed, baked or fried foods

  

Furthermore, following a rational weight loss plan provided individually by a dietitian may contribute to improvement, not only in looks but what is more important in health condition1.

 

 

Personalize your diet & hit the gym

 

How ?

Exercise and healthy nutrition are the answer3. The general dietary advice follows the energy deficit diet. An energy deficit of 500 kcal/day should result in an approximate 0,5 kg loss per week(4). Also, body weight loss should not exceed 4 kg per month. A dietitian prepares a low energy diet by estimating energy requirement (calculating basal metabolic rate (BMR) by means of the Harris-Benedict equation; defining physical activity level)(1).

There are many so-called miraculous weight-loss diets, e.g. fasting, fruit diet or high protein diet. These diets usually give a rapid decline in body weight, but methods like this are highly dangerous. They can cause deficiencies of vitamins and minerals, loss of protein, and even disturbances in water and electrolyte balance. We lose not only fat, but also muscle mass. What is more, often a yo-yo effect occurs(5).

 

So, what is a healthy diet to lose weight?

First and very important rule to lose fat is to eat optimal number of meals. That means 4-5 meals a day every three hours. Diet should also be high in fiber and eliminate high foods (GI > 65) [1]. Fruits, vegetables, legumes (e.g. lentils, chickpeas), nuts and whole grains (e.g. oats, brown rice) are very important. At least 400g (5 portions) of fruits and vegetables should be consumed per day. It is important to remember that potatoes, sweet potatoes and other starchy roots are not classified as fruits or vegetables. You should limit your free sugars intake to less than 10% of total energy intake (ideally less than 5%). That means excluding sweets such as cakes, cookies, and chocolate bars. Also, remember that most free sugars are added to foods or drinks by the manufacturer, and can also be naturally found in products such as honey, syrups, fruit juices and fruit juice concentrates.

 

 

Always remember to read food labels

 

 

A healthy diet is also maintained by reducing the amount of total fat intake to less than 30% of total energy. It can be done by changing how you cook – remove the fatty part of meat, use vegetable oil (not animal oil) and boil, steam or bake rather than fry. Also, limit the consumption of foods containing high amounts of saturated fats such as cheese, ice cream, fatty meat, sour cream, butter.

 

Last but not least, avoid processed, baked or fried foods (like chips, fries) containing industrially produced trans-fats. It is also important to use less than 5g of salt (equivalent to approximately 1 teaspoon) per day (this also applies to the salt contained in the products like bread, salted butter, and snacks). And don’t forget physical activity6. In conclusion, the diet in menopause should be selected individually by a dietitian. However, there are only a few basic rules that need to be necessarily implemented in order to feel good and healthy.

 

Key Elements to Remember to get rid of belly fat after menopause

Menopause is an important change, but some rules don’t change that much! In order to lose your belly pouch, the rules are the same:

  • DO regular exercise.(link to : article with ID 26 “How to keep my shape during menopause ?)
  • DO opt for healthy nutrition.
  • DON’T eat sweets and fatty foods.

 

The rules of a healthy diet to lose weight:

  1. Eat a correct number of meals.
  2. Eat fiber-rich products.
  3. Avoid sugar.
  4. Avoid fatty meals.

 

If following these rules isn’t enough to lose belly fat, just seek for a bit of help. Reach out to a dietitian.

 

 

SOURCES:

  1. Brończyk-Puzoń A, Piecha D, Nowak J, Koszowska A, Kulik-Kupka K, Dittfeld A, Zubelewicz-Szkodzińska B.Guidelines for dietary management of menopausal women with simple obesity. Prz Menopauzalny. 2015 Mar; 14(1):48–52.
  2. Pertyński T, Stachowiak G. Menopause — facts and controversies. Polish Journal of Endocrinology; vol 57; no5/2006 ISSN 0423–104X.
  3. Jull J, Stacey D, Beach S, Dumas A, Strychar I, Ufholz L, Prince S, Abdulnour J, Prud’homme D. Lifestyle Interventions Targeting Body Weight Changes during the Menopause Transition: A Systematic Review. J Obes. 2014;2014: 824310.
  4. Mastorakos G, Valsamakis G, Paltoglou G, Creatsas G. Management of obesity in menopause: Diet, excercise, pharmacotherapyand bariatric surgery. Maturitas. 2010 Mar;65(3):219-24.
  5. Ciborowska H, Rudnicka A. (2007). Żywienie w otyłości (adipositas). Dietetyka. Żywienie zdrowego i chorego człowieka. Warszawa. PZWL
  6. World Health Organisation Global Infobase. http://www.who.int/en/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/healthy-diet

Related articles

Please enter your email address below and we will send you a notification when this item becomes available.

Comment perdre votre ventre durant la ménopause?

How to lose my belly fat during menopause?

Comment perdre votre ventre durant la ménopause?

Pour le perdre, tout est dans l’exercice physique, et contrôler son poids est le grand défi! Votre tissu adipeux ne vous aidera pas car il a déjà à conjuguer avec de nombreux changements. Mais une saine nutrition devrait faire des merveilles!
 

En période de ménopause, la femme est grandement à risque de vivre un surplus de poids ou de l’obésité à cause des changements hormonaux que subit son corps1. La répartition du tissu adipeux varie de façon spécifique. Caractéristique de la phase en âge de procréer, le gras gynoïde, lequel se dépose aux cuisses et aux hanches, est remplacé par le gras androïde. L’excès de tissu adipeux s’accumule dans les tissus sous-cutanés de l’abdomen, ce que nous appelons communément « le bedon »2.

 

Que faire :

– Éviter les diètes réputées pour être « miraculeuses », par exemple, le jeûne ou les diètes aux fruits ou aux protéines.

– Privilégier une alimentation riche en fibre : chaque jour, vous devriez manger au moins 400 g (5 portions) de fruits et de légumes.

– Limiter la consommation de sucres libres à moins de 10 % de votre apport total en énergie.

– Réduire la quantité totale de lipides ingérés à moins de 30 % de votre apport total en énergie.

– Éviter les aliments transformés, cuits ou frits (comme les croustilles ou les frites) contenant des gras trans produits industriellement.

 

De plus, suivre un régime alimentaire ciblant la perte de poids soigneusement planifié par un professionnel de la nutrition peut favoriser des changements positifs, non seulement sur votre allure mais aussi sur votre santé globale, ce qui est encore plus important1.

 

Personnalisez votre alimentation et adoptez le gym!

 

Comment faire?

La réponse se trouve dans l’exercice et l’alimentation3. Conseil principal pour votre alimentation : un régime alimentaire qui favorise un déficit énergétique. Une alimentation avec un déficit de 500 kcal par jour devrait permettre de perdre environ 0,5 kg par semaine4. De plus, la perte de poids ne devrait pas excéder 4 kg par mois. Un professionnel de la nutrition prépare un régime alimentaire à faible teneur énergétique en évaluant les besoins en énergie (en calculant votre métabolisme de base – MB – au moyen de l’équation de Harris-Benedict et en définissant le niveau d’activité physique requis)1.

 

Il existe une multitude de diètes réputées pour être « miraculeuses », comme le jeûne ou les diètes aux fruits ou aux protéines. Ces diètes résultent habituellement en une perte de poids rapide, mais de telles méthodes sont très dangereuses. Elles peuvent générer une carence en vitamines et en minéraux, une perte de protéine, et même créer un déséquilibre hydrique et électrolytique. Il y a perte de graisse, mais aussi perte de masse musculaire. Plus encore, il survient souvent un effet yoyo5.

 

Quelles sont donc les règles d’une saine alimentation?

La première règle, très importante, est de manger un nombre optimal de repas. Cela signifie quatre à cinq repas par jour, toutes les trois heures. Le régime alimentaire devrait être riche en fibres et éliminer les aliments ayant un indice glycémique élevé (IG > 65)1. Les fruits, les légumes (ex. les lentilles, les pois chiches), les noix et les grains entiers (ex. l’avoine, le riz brun) sont essentiels. On devrait consommer au moins 400 g (5 portions) de fruits et de légumes. Il est primordial de se rappeler que les pommes de terre, les pommes de terre sucrées et les légumes-racines riches en amidon ne sont pas classés comme fruits ou légumes. Vous devriez limiter votre consommation de sucres libres à moins de 10 % de votre apport total en énergie (idéalement moins de 5 %). Cela signifie d’éliminer les sucreries comme les gâteaux, les biscuits et les barres de chocolat. Souvenez-vous aussi que la plupart des sucres libres sont ajoutés aux aliments et aux boissons par le fabricant, et peuvent être trouvés sous leur forme naturelle dans divers produits, comme le miel, les sirops, les jus de fruits et les concentrés de jus de fruits.

 

Souvenez-vous de toujours lire les étiquettes.

 

Une saine alimentation consiste aussi à réduire la quantité totale de lipides ingérés à moins de 30 % de l’apport total en énergie. On peut y arriver en changeant la façon de cuisiner : enlever la partie grasse de la viande, utiliser de l’huile végétale (et non une huile animale), et bouillir et cuire au lieu de frire. Il faut aussi limiter la consommation d’aliments contenant de grandes quantités de gras saturés comme le fromage, la crème glacée, la viande grasse, la crème sûre et le beurre.

 

Enfin, la dernière règle et non la moindre, éviter les aliments transformés, cuits ou frits (comme les croustilles, les frites) contenant des gras trans produits industriellement. Il est aussi important d’utiliser moins de 5 g de sel (équivalant à environ 1 cuillère à thé) par jour (ceci inclut le sel déjà contenu dans les produits comme le pain, le beurre salé et les collations). Et n’oubliez pas l’activité physique6. En conclusion, l’alimentation lors de la ménopause devrait être revue de façon individuelle par un professionnel de la nutrition. Il existe cependant quelques règles de base qui peuvent être adoptées afin de se sentir bien et en santé.

 

Éléments clés à retenir :

La ménopause amène des changements importants, mais certaines mesures n’ont pas beaucoup de résultats. Pour perdre votre petit ventre, les règles sont les mêmes :

 

FAIRE de l’exercice régulièrement.

CHOISIR une saine alimentation.

NE PAS consommer de sucreries ni d’aliments gras.

 

Les règles pour une saine alimentation :

Manger un nombre approprié de repas.

Consommer des produits riches en fibres.

Éviter le sucre.

Éviter les repas gras.

 

Si l’intégration de ces règles à votre routine n’est pas suffisante, cherchez de l’aide. Faites appel à un professionnel de la nutrition.

 

[1]. Brończyk-Puzoń A, Piecha D, Nowak J, Koszowska A, Kulik-Kupka K, Dittfeld A, Zubelewicz-Szkodzińska B. Guidelines for dietary management of menopausal women with simple obesity. Prz Menopauzalny. 2015 Mar; 14(1): 48–52.

[2]. Pertyński T, Stachowiak G. Menopause — facts and controversies. Polish Journal of Endocrinology; vol 57; no 5/2006 ISSN 0423–104X.

[3]. Jull J, Stacey D, Beach S, Dumas A, Strychar I, Ufholz L, Prince S, Abdulnour J, Prud’homme D. Lifestyle Interventions Targeting Body Weight Changes during the Menopause Transition: A Systematic Review. J Obes. 2014; 2014: 824310.

[4]. Mastorakos G, Valsamakis G, Paltoglou G, Creatsas G. Management of obesity in menopause: Diet, excercise, pharmacotherapyand bariatric surgery. Maturitas. 2010 Mar;65(3):219-24.

[5] Ciborowska H, Rudnicka A. (2007). Żywienie w otyłości (adipositas). Dietetyka. Żywienie zdrowego i chorego człowieka. Warszawa. PZWL.

[6]. World Health Organisation Global Infobase. http://www.who.int/en/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/healthy-diet.

 

Articles connexes

Veuillez entrer votre adresse de courriel ci-dessous et nous vous aviserons lorsque cet article sera de nouveau offert.