Menopause: what to do for vaginal dryness?

Now that you are in menopause, you are experiencing body changes like vaginal dryness: does it need to be treated or it will stop by itself? There are temporary solutions, there are background vaginal dryness treatments. Let’s recap, shall we?

Vaginal dryness only during the menopause or ?

Vaginal dryness causes range from physiological factors, such as hormonal changes or medication side effects, to emotional and psychological issues like a lack of desire or even anxiety. Fortunately, no matter the cause, there is a vaginal dryness treatment.

But the most important is to talk about it with the objective of finding out the source of the discomfort.

What causes vaginal dryness  during menopause?

Vaginal dryness is a very common symptom in menopausal women. Vaginal mucus – sensitive to the dip in hormonal estrogen secretions - will progressively thin and lose its elasticity notably due to a decline in levels of collagen and fatty tissue. Vaginal dryness increases over the years, and results in burning, irritation, pain during sex or infections. It also contributes to urinary problems.

In spite of 25% to 50% of women experiencing these vaginal dryness symptoms and their negative effects on the quality of life and sexual function, women remain reticent to seek their doctor’s advice1.

25 to 50% of women experience vaginal dryness symptoms during menopause

There are different vaginal dryness treatments: if a hormonal treatment is prescribed, it will help with vaginal dryness. Local treatments based on estradiol, like vaginal ovules, rings or creams are effective. If an estrogen treatment isn’t wanted or advised, lubricants and vaginal hydrators can reduce vaginal dryness symptoms temporarily. Recently there has been use of Vitamin E to improve vaginal dryness. However, these local vaginal dryness treatments are temporary solutions and no longer have an eff  when the patient stops using them.

Vaginal dryness is a common and frustrating condition, but there are ways to alleviate the discomfort. If a lack of lubrication is causing painful sex, be sure to talk to your doctor about all possible treatments.

Key elements to remember about vaginal dryness

  • Truth: vaginal dryness is a menopause classic
  • Tips: lubricants, vaginal hydrators are your best friends if you use them on a daily-basis and long term.

 

SOURCE:

1. Pastore LM, Carter RA, Hulka BS, Wells E. Self-reported urogenital symptoms in postmenopausal women: Women’s Health initiative. Maturitas. 2004; 49(4):292-303.

Related articles

Ménopause : que faire avec la sécheresse vaginale?

Ménopause : que faire avec la sécheresse vaginale?

Maintenant que vous êtes en ménopause, vous vivez des changements corporels tels que la sécheresse vaginale : doit-on la traiter ou va-t-elle cesser d’elle-même? Il existe des solutions temporaires, mais ce sont des traitements de base. Récapitulons, vous voulez bien?

La sécheresse vaginale apparaît seulement durant la ménopause?

Les causes de la sécheresse vaginale varient des facteurs physiologiques, tels que les changements hormonaux ou les effets secondaires de la médication, aux facteurs émotionnels et psychologiques, comme le manque d’intérêt et même l’anxiété. Heureusement, peu importe la cause, il existe une solution à la sécheresse vaginale.

Mais le plus important est d’en parler avec l’objectif de trouver la source d’inconfort.

Pourquoi la sécheresse vaginale apparaît-elle durant la ménopause?

La sécheresse vaginale est un symptôme très commun chez la femme ménopausée. Le mucus vaginal – sensible à la baisse de sécrétions hormonales d’œstrogènes – deviendra progressivement plus mince et perdra de son élasticité notamment dû à la chute des niveaux de collagène et des tissus adipeux. La sécheresse vaginale augmente avec les années et résulte en des brûlures, des irritations, des douleurs durant l’acte sexuel et des infections. Elle peut aussi causer des problèmes urinaires.

Même si 25 à 50 % des femmes ont ces symptômes et vivent avec leurs effets négatifs sur la qualité de vie et la fonction sexuelle, les femmes demeurent réticentes à demander les conseils de leur médecin1.

25 à 50 % des femmes vivent avec la sécheresse vaginale durant la ménopause

Il existe différentes solutions : si un traitement hormonal est prescrit, il aidera avec la sécheresse vaginale. Les traitements locaux avec de l’estradiol, comme les ovules vaginaux, les anneaux ou les crèmes, sont efficaces. Si un traitement œstrogénique n’est pas ce qui convient ni n’est conseillé, les lubrifiants et les hydratants vaginaux peuvent réduire les symptômes temporairement. Récemment, la prise de vitamine E est en vogue pour améliorer la sécheresse vaginale. Cela dit, ces traitements locaux sont des solutions temporaires et n’ont plus aucun effet sur la patiente si cette dernière cesse de les prendre.

La sécheresse vaginale est une condition commune et frustrante, mais il existe des façons de soulager l’inconfort. Si un manque de lubrification cause une relation sexuelle douloureuse, assurez-vous d’en parler à votre médecin pour connaître tous les traitements possibles.

Éléments clés à retenir

  • Vérité : La sécheresse vaginale est un classique de la ménopause.
  • Conseils : Les lubrifiants et les hydratants vaginaux sont vos meilleurs amis si vous les utilisez sur une base quotidienne et à long terme.

SOURCES

1. Pastore LM, Carter RA, Hulka BS, Wells E. Self-reported urogenital symptoms in postmenopausal women: Women’s Health initiative. Maturitas. 2004; 49(4):292-303.

Articles connexes